North Canterbury Sports Awards

Celebrating North Canterbury's best athletes, administrators, coaches, officials, clubs, events & supporters

2020 MainPower Youth Sport Scholarships

This year's MainPower Youth Sport Scholarships will be presented at a special event at MainPower Oval on 30th October.
Applications are now closed for the 2020 Scholarships.


For those who have applied more information will be provided as we get closer to the close of applications and the presentation event.

MainPower North Canterbury Sports Awards Update


Due to the Covid-19 pandemic's impact on local and international sporting competitions we have made the decision to forgo the MainPower North Canterbury Sports Awards this year.

The 2021 Sport Awards will be the 20th Anniversary of this event and will cover sporting achievements over a 2 year period.

2019 MainPower North Canterbury Sports Awards & Youth Sport Scholarships

Congratulations to all the winners from the 2019 MainPower North Canterbury
Sports Awards & MainPower Youth Sport Scholarships


Active Health Junior Sportswoman:
Esra McGoldrick – Basketball

Rangiora New World Junior Sportsman:
Fletcher Newell – Rugby


Pegasus Golf & Sports Club Sports Coach:
Liam Connelly – Basketball  


McAlpines Mitre10 Athlete with a Disability:
Kyle Harpur – Athletics


The Sports Shop Sports Team:
Glenmark Cheviot Division 1 Rugby Team


Rangiora Vet Centre Masters Sportsperson:
Sara Schist – Crossfit


All Insure Sports Official:
Kim Cotton – Cricket Umpire


R. Grant Electrical Sportswoman:
Grace Brooker – Rugby


N.F. Preen Contracting Sportsman:
Kazuma Kobori – Golf


BNZ, Harcourts Four Seasons Realty
& Hurunui District Council Service to Sport:
Gordon Wong – Basketball
Mike Smart – BMX
John Hamilton – Cricket

Injury Prevention Waimak Club of the Year:
(Peter Allen Safe Sport Award)


Rangiora Croquet Club
Waimakariri District Council Sports Event:
NCBA South Island Primary School
Basketball Tournament



Supreme Sports Award winner:
Kazuma Kobori

MainPower Youth Sport Scholarship Finalists:

  • Helen Matthews - Basketball

  • Rebecca Jones – Archery

  • Gabrielle Rennie – Football

  • Jacob Turner – Mountainbiking

  • Olivia Sloan – Archery

  • George Prain – Rugby

  • Blair Currie – Football

Runners up:

  • Angus Kelliher – Swimming

  • Macey Fraser – Football & Futsal


  • Kazuma Kobori – Golf

What Are The Sports Awards?

Do you know a local athlete, sport administrator, official or supporter who has had a great year?  Someone who has achieved great things in their sport or who has gone above and beyond to help others achieve their sporting goals?

If so, a great way to recognize their achievement and hard work is to nominate them for the 2017 MainPower North Canterbury Sports Awards.  There's 13 different categories of award covering all the different roles people play in sport.

Anyone can make a nomination, but it's best to first check with the relevant sports club or association your nominee is involved with.  You can complete a nomination form online by clicking on the button above, but if you'd rather fill out a form the old fashioned way please contact Rosie Oliver at the NCSRT who can get a nomination form to you in your preferred format.


Phone: 03 975 5560

MainPower Youth Sport Scholarships

Applications are now also open for the 2017 MainPower Youth Sport Scholarships.  Each year these scholarships provide $30,000 to 10 young local athletes to assist them in taking their next step on their path to the pinnacle in their chosen sport.

Past scholarship recipients include international athletes Anton Cooper, Angie Petty, Alex Kennedy, Trent Jones, Craig & Ben Oliver and Bronwyn Dibb.

For more Information and the application form to apply for a scholarship click on the button at top of page.

© 2017 by NCSRT. Proudly created with